The Group, originally known as RoSPA, Manchester Industrial Safety Branch, was formed before World War II; however the exact dates are not known at present.

The Group was disbanded during the war and reformed in 1948 and by 1957 membership was approximately 150, similar to present, although at one stage it did increase to 300.

The format of the meetings has remained similar over the years with input from the HSE at most meetings and a discussion period for members’ problems.


Various venues have been used over the years – namely:-
The Geographical Rooms in St Mary’s Gardens, Parsonage
Milton Rooms, Deansgate
BMA Buildings – Victoria Park
GMB College – Whalley Range
Kelloggs – Barton Dock and Talbot Road
Trafford College –Talbot Road
Ace Training
Warren Bruce Court
St Antony’s Centre


Initially the position was permanent and a public figure in Manchester.
1948 – 1965 Mr Mather, Mather and Platt
1965 – 1968 the MD, English Steel Corporation
circa 1968 the MD, Mirror Group Newspapers

Later the role was only for two years and held by:-
Frank Riddell – Crown Wallpapers
Lawrie Manning – Dunlop
Gordon Douglas
Kerry Ross

Occasionally, the position remained vacant.


Again initially a permanent position, some of the incumbents being :-
Personnel Managers – Linotype (Broadheath)
Chief S O – Metro Vickers

This was before changing to a one to three year term of office of whom the following held the title:-
Frank Riddell – Crown Wallpapers
Don Levitt – Metro Vickers
Harry Beeston – ICI
Lawrie Manning – Dunlop
Ray Morland – TBA
Zyggy Turek – British Gas (now SMBC)
Ron Powell – ICL (now Triage Services)
Gareth Corps – United Biscuits
Kerry Ross – Kellogg’s (now Abacus Safety Services)
Sally Ann Turner – Reality Group
Peter Rogerson – Astrocare
Brian Wilkinson – Manchester TEC/Learning and Skills Council
Carole Conroy – Leeds University (now University of Salford)
Jeff Roycroft – Rhodia (now McCormick Foods)
Mark Dutton – Stockport College
Derek Fabby – Trafford College
Dave Spence – Diodes Zetex
Elaine Humphreys

Other Positions:

Other officers (names not already mentioned) have been:-
E Johnson – TBA
Mrs W Shallcross – Vita Foams
C R Oldham – Nuclear Power Co Ltd
Keith Frankish – Co-op
Mike Nixon – Sun Chemical (now Simply Safe Consultancy)
Cathy Nixon – Simply Safe Consultancy
Irene Essington

Derick Wood
Alan Lidyard
Lawrie Manning
Brian Wilkinson
Mark Dutton
Cath Caddick

Works Visits:

These have been held to a number of premises over the years:-
HSL, Buxton
Kimberly Clark, Horwich
The Trafford Centre
Chill Factore
British Aerospace
British Vita
HM Prison Wymott
Gradbach Scout Camp

If anybody can expand on the above information please contact Irene Essington